$150 Grocery Budget Challenge (Ohio)

Help!

My grocery budget was getting out of control and I knew I needed to change something. Every trip to a grocery store gave me an anxiety and I had no idea where was my money going. The totals at the cash register were always a surprise and I was throwing out a lot of food that went bad.

Where is my money?

I have always paid for my groceries with a  debit card so when I went through my statements for the past 5 months I have realized I was spending over $700 a month for food and eating out for myself and my husband. I have decided to cut that in half effective immediately. My current budget is $300/month for the two of us (or $150/month each).

I need to regain control 

The second I established the budget I felt relived. I now feel in control of my money. I plan my grocery trips around grocery ads and I base my meals on what is available on sale. I shop at Costco, Aldi, Walmart, Meijer and Kroger.

Our habits

We do not eat pork and avoid eating out. The grocery budget includes eating out but it does not include cleaning supplies or cosmetics although I would like those items to be inclusive in our budget. I have started the challenge on the 13th of February 2016. That means that the $300 I allocated for my grocery should last until March 13th. I would like to limit my grocery trips to 2/month.

I would love to hear from you about your food budget especially if you are from Ohio. Stay tuned for more 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

